

PHOENIX MOTORCYCLE CLUB

Clubrooms: Bartley Crescent, Wayville

Postal Address: 30 Galway Ave., North Plympton. 5037

The Club was formed in April 1964 at a meeting held at David Winton's house at 30 Galway Ave North Plympton.

Present were: D Winton, N Winton, E Fowler, R Sayer, C Angles, J Lord, J Wreford, I Spiller and 2 or 3 others. David came up with the club name while looking through a dictionary.

The first club meeting place was at Ma's café in Tavistock Street (now Frome Rd), Adelaide.

The first President was Charles 'Darwin' Angeles

The name Phoenix was picked because it means we have risen again from the ashes.

The following 1964 foundation members are taken from the order they appeared in the membership book.

1	Rayleigh Burgess	29	Warren Hall	57	Ivan 'Snow' Ardill
2	John Lord	30	Rod McKenna	58	Lincoln Hughes
3	Peter Rose	31	Wolfgang Vogel	59	Nicholas Grivell
4	J Tarbaard	32	Desmond Parr	60	Bowden Hynda
5	Neil Winton	33	Gwenda Hayward	61	Ernest Pobke
6	Robert Sayer	34	John Wreford	62	Lloyd Downes
7	Charles 'Darwin' Angles	35	Suzanne Sander	63	Andrew Dabler
8	Clem Richards	36	Jack Wilson	64	Glen Virgin
9	Noeleen Harris	37	Ray Taarnby	65	Glennys Rogers
10	Heather Meyers	38	Barry Elliot	66	Sandra Duncan
11	Terry Rich	39	Cheryl Dale	67	Douglas Thompson
12	Douglas Banks	40	Murray Jenkin	68	Shirley Scroop
13	Ross Owen	41	Wayne Knowles	69	Peter Sheldon
14	David Winton	42	Mark Surkic	70	David Bartlett
15	Russ Hanby	43	lan Spiller	71	Glen 'Pebbles' Rose
16	Carol Bennett	44	Beverly Greet	72	Leonie Ollson
17	Trevor Clements	45	Robert McAvaney	73	Margret Wakefield
18	Trevor Mumford	46	Donald Wakefield	74	Brian Jordan
19	Tony van Gastelde	47	Bob Nelson	75	Allen Flackerty
20	Deane Jesser	48	Janet Moxon	76	Darcy Buttfield
21	Coral Spells	49	Wally Champion	77	Heather Silles
22	Barry Caddle	50	John Leo	78	Malcolm Seal
23	John Taylor	51	Ronald Jenkins	79	Wayne Kearvell
24	Ron Davidson	52	Trevor Henderson	80	Leonie Pitts
25	Corrie Wake	53	Peter Knolder	81	Murray Barber
26	Tony Lee	54	Andrew Kukeste	82	Adrian Biggs
27	Terry Inram	55	Kent Barney		00
28	Graham Bergstrom	56	Murray Bush		
	-		•		

(Original club letterhead. Information supplied by John Lord.)